Sign up NOW for the CYM Summer Music School 2017

CYM Summer Music Course 2017 The CYM Summer Music School will run from Monday 24th – Friday 28th July 2017 Please click on the Application form and Brochure below for more details More »

CYM Folk Ensembles open to all!

CYM has two Folk Ensembles, run in partnership with the English Folk Dance and Song Society and supported by the The Brook Trust, are open to both CYM students and to school-aged students from across More »

 

FYM

The Foundation for Young Musicians (FYM) is a registered charity (No: 100825) and was set up in 1990 to raise funds for the Centre for Young Musicians (CYM), so that CYM can continue to offer talented London school children first-class musical training and education irrespective of ability to pay.

Over the years the Foundation has raised many millions of pounds for CYM, and every year, it plays a vital role in providing financial support for CYM, both with its running costs and with projects.
It seeks funding for:

  • Bursaries to pay the tuition fees at Saturday Centre of gifted youngsters whose families don’t have the means to meet those costs.
  • Bursaries to enable disadvantaged young people to attend holiday courses and instrument taster sessions at CYM.
  • The repair and purchase of musical instruments for loan to young people who cannot afford the prices of instruments today.
  • CYM’s use of the IT/Recording Studio at Morley College
  • The London Schools Symphony Orchestra (LSSO), the London Youth Wind Band (LYWB) and other ensembles.
  • Tutor apprentice scheme – where music college students come in to help to teach and give confidence to the aspiring young musicians.
  • Special projects such as commissions, master classes and composer-in-residence schemes.

The City of London Corporation has been the loyal sponsor of the London Schools Symphony Orchestra for over 13 years. To see a full list of our current generous supporters please look on the Supporters page.

How to help the Foundation for Young Musicians

Please call or e-mail to discuss how you might help:

020 7928 3844
info@fymlondon.org.uk.
(Funds donated are by a UK taxpayers are eligible for tax recovery under the Gift Aid scheme – please call to discuss.)

List of FYM funders

Stephen Bloch Memorial Disability Charity: http://thestevenblochimageofdisabilitycharitabletrust.com/

Brook Trust: http://brooktrust.org/

City of London Corporation: http://www.cityoflondon.gov.uk/Pages/default.aspx

The D’Oyly Carte Charitable Trust: http://www.doylycartecharitabletrust.org/

The Ernest Cook Trust: http://ernestcooktrust.org.uk/

EMI Sound Foundation: http://www.emimusicsoundfoundation.com/

JP Getty Charitable Trust: http://www.jpgettytrust.org.uk/

German YMCA in London: http://www.german-ymca.org.uk/

Goldsmiths’ Company: http://www.thegoldsmiths.co.uk/

The Haberdashers’ Company: http://www.haberdashers.co.uk/home.php

Harold Hyam Wingate Foundation: http://www.wingatefoundation.org.uk/

Hyde Park Place Estate Charity

ICE Futures Charitable Trust

The Leche Trust: http://www.lechetrust.org/

Lucille Graham Trust: http://www.lucillegrahamtrust.org.uk/

Louis Watt Memorial Fund

The Lord and Lady Lurgan Trust: http://lurgantrust.org/

The Mageni Trust:

Newcomen Collett Foundation: http://www.newcomencollett.org.uk/

Jack Petchey Foundation: http://www.jackpetcheyfoundation.org.uk/

The Stanley Picker Trust: http://www.stanleypickergallery.org/about/stanley-picker-trust/

Austin & Hope Pilkington Trust: http://austin-hope-pilkington.org.uk/

The Radcliffe Trust: http://www.theradcliffetrust.org/

Restore the Music UK: http://www.restorethemusicuk.com/

St Olave’s Foundation Fund: http://www.stolavesfoundationfund.org.uk/

Steel Charitable Trust: http://www.steelcharitabletrust.org.uk/

Talbot House Trust: http://www.talbothousetrust.co.uk/

Trusthouse Charitable Foundation: http://www.trusthousecharitablefoundation.org.uk/

The Alan & Babette Sainsbury Charitable Fund: http://www.sfct.org.uk/the-alan-and-babette-sainsbury-charitable-fund/

The Barbara Whatmore Trust

The Thistle Trust

Plus personal donations from individuals ‘in memoriam’ donations and legacies, all of which are hugely valued and appreciated.

 

 

 

Print Friendly